Kindred Spirits Orchestra: Pärt, Górecki and Shostakovich (Principal 2nd Violin)


A highlight to Markham’s 2021 Contemporary Music Festival, the Kindred Spirits Orchestra presents three uniquely orchestrated compositions from three unique European masters of twentieth century music. Deeply touched by his fellow composer’s death, and scored for tubular bell and string orchestra, Arvo Pärt’s Canticum in Memoriam Benjamin Britten is a mournful and meditative elegy. Commissioned by the Polish Radio for the Composers Forum in 1980, Concerto for harpsichord and string orchestra by Henryk Górecki is a relentless raging tempest in musical form. Dmitri Shostakovich’s most extraordinarily scored symphony is his Fourteenth. Written for two voices, string orchestra and percussion, this work is a profound ode to the power of suffering and death.

Kristian Alexander | conductor

Antonia de Wolfe | pianist

Stephanie DeCiantis | soprano

John Holland | bass-baritone

Michael Berec | host